fbpx CPTPP Accessions | Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade - Have Your Say
Back to top anchor
Open main menu Close main menu

CPTPP Accessions

Why are we consulting now?

The CPTPP has been in effect for Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore and Viet Nam for two years now.  The remaining four signatories to the CPTPP (Brunei, Chile, Malaysia and Peru) are still completing their domestic processes to ratify the Agreement.

Other economies are increasingly indicating an interest in joining the CPTPP in the future, through the accession clause in the Agreement.

On 1 February, the first formal request to join was received from the United Kingdom.  A separate UK-NZ bilateral FTA negotiation is also proceeding in parallel.

Some other APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation) economies have also indicated they are giving serious consideration to applying to join the CPTPP in the future.

It’s important for us to hear from New Zealanders at this stage, so we can take account of your views before negotiations start with any prospective candidates.

What does it mean for New Zealand to have others join the CPTPP?

Comments may be published in full or in part by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Names and email addresses will not be made public.
Write your submission (maximum 1000 characters) in the comment box below. Be as specific as possible.

Or email your submission to cptppconsultations@mfat.govt.nz